Britannica SchoolThis link opens in a new windowExplore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
CultureGramsThis link opens in a new windowCultureGrams™ is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. With world events increasingly affecting our lives, it's more important than ever to educate students about the world around them, and for college students and business people to stay up-to-date. CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available.
To use this database at home:
User=lslib, PW=panthers
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)This link opens in a new windowExplore the many online reference and specialized ebooks on a variety of topics. GVRL allows access to hundreds of topic sources for research.
PebbleGoThis link opens in a new windowClick on the topic of dinosaurs, science, animals, biographies, or social studies (history, community, government, and culture), then search for information.
Scholastic Go!This link opens in a new windowGrolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.
Sirs DiscovererThis link opens in a new windowProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
World Book EncylopediasThis link opens in a new windowWorld Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
To use these sources from home: User=pdslibs PW=gooddata
The Italians by 
Italy by