DATABASES & ESUBSCRIPTIONS
The library subscribes to a number of databases to fulfill your needs for rigorous academic research or personal curiosity and learning. Databases and websites may be accessed from home using our PDS library logins. Please ask Ms. Matlack for the account info if needed.
ABC-CLIO's 15 subject-specific Solutions curriculum resources provide authoritative coverage of essential topics in U.S. history and government, world history, geography, and a range of multicultural and popular culture subjects.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
A powerful online reference system offering a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. It includes Novelist, French and Spanish online databases, Points of View Database, and full text access to journals, magazine, and more.
Explore the many online reference and specialized ebooks on a variety of topics. GVRL allows access to hundreds of topic sources for research.
Global Issues in Context spans continents and cultures to bring essential, balanced information to researchers across many academic disciplines. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search, Global Issues in Context not only focuses on broad issues such as poverty and nuclear proliferation, it also prompts a close appraisal of targeted issues.
Facts on File covers a wide variety of topics with more than 3,000 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others.
JSTOR currently offers more than 10 million academic journal articles, 50,000 books, and 2 million primary source documents in 75 disciplines
SIRS® Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues of the day.
A full-text newspaper database that lets you search newspapers electronically by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields, eliminating random searches through newspaper archives for specific articles page after page.
Online access to The New York Times website
Online access to over 20,000 current and historical newspapers
Online access to The Washington Post website
Online access to The Washington Post website
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, etc. Includes content from PBS, CNN, BBC, and more.
