Your project for the spring is to make a software presentation on a particular element, one which we will choose in class. The presentation should be broken into the following sections, clearly marked and in the order given:
Chemicals and minerals should always be introduced both by name and formula, and chemical processes should include balanced chemical equations whenever possible.
You can use any program to make your presentation provided that your teacher can view it using a Mac in one of the following programs: PowerPoint, Keynote, or via a standard web browser. It should include a minimum of ten pictures/ images in addition to the text; these may be from the internet or scanned in from books. All information, including every picture used, must be properly referenced either inline or using endnotes (preferred) or footnotes, and images should be accompanied by a title (such as “Figure 1”, etc.) and caption. The project should be provided to me as an attachment via e-mail (if it’s not too large), on a USB drive, or via a link so it can be accessed online on or before the due date (see Schoology). You may want to provide a preliminary copy beforehand so that your teacher can test it and make sure your presentation will work as expected before it is due.
It should include a minimum of ten pictures/images in addition to the text; these may be from the internet or scanned in from books.
All information, including every picture/image used, must be properly referenced either inline or using endnotes (preferred) or footnotes. Images should be captioned with a title (such as "Figure 1"). The project should be provided to Dr. Gadd or Mr. Park as an attachment via email (if it's not too large), or on a portable drive. You may want to provide a preliminary copy beforehand so it can be tested to make sure your presentation will work as expected before it is due.
If you need help with the technical aspects of this project, be sure to see the teacher early; don't wait until the last minute. Timely completion of this project is your responsibility. You may also seek out other assistance with the technical aspects.
Here are a few additional tips if you are working with PowerPoint:
Your grade for this project will be broken down as follows:
Each section will be worth twenty points--ten for information and ten for presentation (including spelling, grammar, and mechanics as well as other details impacting the presentation). [80 points]
Pictures with captions and clearly cited references will be worth ten points. [10 points]
The bibliography/citation of information will be worth ten points. [10 points]
The total is thus 100 test points.
Remember to use multiple sources for your data and include all the relevant information in your citations.
For Research
Provides in-depth information on 112 known chemical elements.
Offers information on the ways in which different chemical elements combine to form commonly-used chemical compounds, such as water, ammonia, and aspirin. Defines what a chemical compound actually is and the difference between organic and inorganic compounds, as well as providing definitions of acids, bases, salts, oxides, and coordination compounds. Features a general historical overview of major discoveries and the notable scientists who made them.
Provides a broad approach to chemistry, its laws, processes, applications and subdisciplines, and its many branches, including inorganic, industrial, atmospheric and computational chemistry as well as biotechnology, including biographies of scientists past and present. Reviews the history of the field up to modern research and practical applications, and topical essays examine the role chemistry plays in various aspects of everyday life.
Infobase Facts-on-File database with a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines as a strong starting point for research.
Click here for database login credentials and access to additional databases
Extensive information on elements from Professor Mark Winter of the University of Sheffield, UK.
MLA citation guide from Purdue University. Includes instructions and examples for citing all types of print and digital sources, including databases, websites, images, etc.
