LibGuides: MS American Values: Home

Essential Question

How has an event or an idea since 1900 in United States History demonstrated and/or challenged an American value? How does that event or idea resonate today?

What is the important ideas you want students to get out of project? How to make this a question that will not just have students report on conflicts?

Resistance Movements Globally

Idea of impacting Change

How to define movement and resistence - not one person, groups of people who try to enact change

Change leading to improvement in human rights?

How has a global movement since 1900 (anywhere in the world)demonstrated a ideal or value and or challenged a society to change?

How has a resistant movement reflect tension between individual human rights and societal or government policies, practices or values?

Assignment Overview

AMERICAN VALUES RESEARCH - Video Intro: The Assignment

Your task is to choose a historical topic of interest. You will then gather sources, research the topic, and connect it to an American value to answer the essential question above. After some steps you will write a 3 - 5 page paper on the topic. Here are the steps for the assignment. More details will be included as you work through the assignment each week. As you go through this process you will be supported during each step along the way!

OPEN & IMMERSE: Bring in an item of value to share, then discuss personal values and the values of America together in class. The discussion will focus ont these questions: What is a value and how is it formed? What is an American Value? How do historical events demonstrate or challenge an American Value?

EXPLORE: Explore ideas about the Essential Question, and how to use the Libguide to look for sources on two topics. Of those two topics, you will select one in consultation with your teacher.

IDENTIFY: Continue to learn about your topic and create research question(s) about the topic, and the corresponding American value. The question(s) will guide your research.

GATHER: Research your topic using the Libguide sources. Use at least 6 authoritative sources from the Libguide, two being primary sources. As you gather information and take notes, keep track of your sources for a bibliography in MLA format.

CREATE: Create an outline, with topic sentences for each paragraph. Submit a rough draft for review, and then write the 3 - 5 page paper from the rough draft. Include in text citations and a final bibliography.

REFLECT: Fill out a Google form about your thoughts on the process and the topic studied.

Sources for American Values

Video Tutorial about Sources for Values

USERNAME and PASSWORDS

USERNAME: pdslibs (no caps)

PASSWORD: gooddata (no caps)

EXCEPTIONS:

----EBSCOHOST Databases USERNAME: pdslibs (no caps). PASSWORD: gooddata!21 ( no caps)

----EXPLORA PRIMARY USERNAME: pdslibs (no caps). PASSWORD: gooddata!21 ( no caps)

----PROQUEST HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS: THE NYTIMES USERNAME: pdshist PASSWORD: Gooddata!20 (notice G is Capitalized)

----JSTOR USERNAME PDSlibs (Notice PDS is in CAPS here). PASSWORD: gooddata

PLAGIARISM, BIBLIOGRAPHIES, CITATIONS, AND WRITING TIPS

WATCH BRAINPOP PLAGIARISM

Video: Create a Bibliography from esubscriptions

Go to mybib.com or watch this Video: Create a Bibliography from mybib.com

Video: How to Format at Bibliography: Sample Bibliography (See Document Below)

For Your Paper you need to include IN-TEXT CITATIONS FOR QUOTATIONS only. (Next year you will learn how to do this for other info) When you use MyBib.com it will create the In-Text Citation for you when it creates a bibliography entry

SAMPLE BIBLIOGRAPHY
THIS DOCUMENT SHOWS HOW TO FORMAT YOUR BIBLIOGRAPHY, OR WORKS CITED PAGE.

HOW TO CREATE A BIBLIOGRAPHY WRITTEN INSTRUCTIONS

CORNELL NOTETAKING FORM

BrainPop: How to Research and Focus on a Topic

BRAINPOP: How to Narrow a Topic
THIS RESEARCH VIDEO explains how to begin with a broad topic, and narrow it down to focus on a smaller topic.
Userrname: pdspds
Pasword: pds

How to Select a Topic?

VIDEO INTRO TUTORIAL: TOPICS & SOURCES

To choose a topic think about three things: YOUR INTEREST, the availability of 6 good SOURCES, and the ability to connect the topic to an American VALUE.

You will be meeting with a teacher to talk about your two topic choices. Be sure that your topic is broad enough to have at least 6 sources of information, but narrow enough for you to develop a good research question, and answer the question in 3 - 5 pages.

Here are some topics from previous years in case you wanted some ideas:

Border Wall. Immigrants - treatment, laws, etc (Chinese Immigration, and Islamophobia)

Kent State

Gun laws. McCarthyism Protest Music 1960’s. Antiwar Movement (Vietnam) Dropping of Atomic Bomb/Manhattan Project

World Trade Center 9/11 and privacy. Feminism in our times (metoo, equal pay). Equal Rights Amendment

Black Lives Matter and Police Brutality. Native American Movement and Policies. Pentagon Papers

Civil Rights - many specific events or topics. Voting Rights

Lists of Topics from Mr. C

Historical Topics - Try these first!

FREEDOMFLIX TUTORIAL - (HOW TO USE TO NARROW A TOPIC)

FreedomFlix This link opens in a new window
FreedomFlix is the online resource that allows students to master content- area knowledge in social studies while honing their literacy skills. Project ideas based on FreedomFlix's strong social studies content call for students to explain historical events.

ABC-CLIO VIDEO TUTORIAL (HOW TO USE & NARROW A TOPIC)

ABC-CLIO Database
Check out topics by time period from 1900 - the present.

UXL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN HISTORY TUTORIAL (HOW TO NARROW A TOPIC)

UXL Encyclopedia American History

Current News Sources and Websites

CLICK HERE FOR TUTORIAL VIDEO HOW TO USE CURRENT NEWS SOURCES

Use this link for Newsela for current topics in the news. Then sign in with your google username and password.

For Current News from across the Political Spectrum use Allsides.com. It has an easy topic finder, and explains bias in all news sources.

Try the World Book News Site and click on WORLD NEWS on the top bar to access current news websites from the nation and the world. Students may also use these trusted news sites such as the Wall Street Journal, The NY Times, CNN, and more, but first check with your teacher about it!

For the NYTIMES go to nytimes.com

username is library@pds.org

password is goodnews

Encyclopedias

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.
World Book Encylopedias This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Primary Sources

USE THIS VIDEO TO REVIEW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PRIMARY AND SECONDARY SOURCES

ABC-Clio History Databases This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO's 15 subject-specific Solutions curriculum resources provide authoritative coverage of essential topics in U.S. history and government, world history, geography, and a range of multicultural and popular culture subjects.

DocsTeach
LInks Primary Sources to topics in history.
National Archives Foundational Documents
Text of Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, etc.
Supreme Court Landmark Cases
National Archives

FreedomFlix This link opens in a new window
FreedomFlix is the online resource that allows students to master content- area knowledge in social studies while honing their literacy skills. Project ideas based on FreedomFlix's strong social studies content call for students to explain historical events.

Web Sites

Crash Course: Civil Rights, Civil Liberties

Ebooks GVRL Username: pdslibs Password: gooddata

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Explore the many online reference and specialized ebooks on a variety of topics. GVRL allows access to hundreds of topic sources for research.

Annenberg Classroom

Streaming Educational Videos about many topics

How to Use Learn360 Streaming vidoes.

Streaming Videos from Learn360
Check out this for educational steaming videos on any topic. You can look at short portions of longer videos or read the transcripts for information.

What does it mean to be " Right" and "Left"

Cornell Notetaking Forms

CURRENT Pro/Con Databases

Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window
ProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context spans continents and cultures to bring essential, balanced information to researchers across many academic disciplines. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search, Global Issues in Context not only focuses on broad issues such as poverty and nuclear proliferation, it also prompts a close appraisal of targeted issues,
Infobase Facts on File Databases This link opens in a new window
Facts on File Infobase source covers a wide variety of topics with more than 3,000 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. Our publishing program covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-5), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), college/academic, and general adult. A
SIRS Database This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues of the day.