LibGuides: MS 7 Abolitionists Part 1: Home

Inquiry Questions

1. What tactics and strategies did the leaders of the abolitionist movement use to promote their cause?

2. What made their work effective?

Harriet Tubman (far left) stands with a group of enslaved people she helped escape.

MPI/Hulton Archive/Getty Images

Suggestions for Abolitionists

Wikipedia list of abolitionists

Here are additional suggested names of Abolitionists:

To use the eSubscriptions

USERNAME: pdslibs

PASSWORD: gooddata

ABC-Clio History Databases This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO's 15 subject-specific Solutions curriculum resources provide authoritative coverage of essential topics in U.S. history and government, world history, geography, and a range of multicultural and popular culture subjects.
Ebscohost Databases This link opens in a new window
A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. It includes Novelist, French and Spanish online databases, Points of View Database, and full text access to journals, magazine, and more.
FactCite This link opens in a new window
FactCite is an award-winning collection of online reference resources designed and written especially for students in grade 1 - 8. Includes biographies, history, science, mythology, states, countries and much more.
SIRS Database This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues of the day.

World Book Encylopedias This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.

Check out SORA for Stamped and some other titles too!