LibGuides: MS Exploration and Discovery of "New World": Home

Original Essential Questions

What events or ideas in influenced your explorer?

What changes occurring in Renaissance Europe motivated exploration and shaped their choices in new lands?

What was the Impact of your explorer's voyages and exploration?

How does the impact of your explorer's voyages and explorations resonate in our world today?

The Explorer Project

What changes occurred in Renaissance Europe that motivated exploration and shaped the explorer's choices in new lands?

Library Catalog and Webpath Express Username: pdslibs Psswd: gooddata

Search Online through the catalog

Use 3 - 5 Different kind of sources, with one source a print source, and the others taken from the online links below. If you find another online source that is not listed here ask permission to use it. (In other words do not just google this search).

Types of Sources to use:

1. Biographical Information - books or online - use the library catalog to identify a biography of your explorer

2. Reference Sources for Explorers or historical topics

3. Maps

4. Current Periodicals for current information - Try Ebscohost

5. Create a bibliography with mybib.com for print items, and or copy and paste from the esubcriptions. If you use a website you must also use mybib.com to create the bibliography. See the separate box on this libguide.

Conquistadors and Spanish Conquest
Use pdslibs and gooddata to view.

Exploration in the Renaissance
Use this article to introduce you to the Renaissance and Exploration.

USE

Username: pdslibs

Password: gooddata

to access esubscriptions

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Explore the many online reference and specialized ebooks on a variety of topics. GVRL allows access to hundreds of topic sources for research.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
World Book Encylopedias This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.
ABC-Clio History Databases This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO's 15 subject-specific Solutions curriculum resources provide authoritative coverage of essential topics in U.S. history and government, world history, geography, and a range of multicultural and popular culture subjects.
Infobase Facts on File Databases This link opens in a new window
Facts on File Infobase source covers a wide variety of topics with more than 3,000 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. Our publishing program covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-5), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), college/academic, and general adult. A
Ebscohost Databases This link opens in a new window
A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. It includes Novelist, French and Spanish online databases, Points of View Database, and full text access to journals, magazine, and more.

Sample Bibliography

Sample Bibliography
Click here to see a sample of a bibliography.

How to Create a Bibliography

1. A Bibliography is a list of sources you have used to for research when you create a project. The sources are formatted and put in alphabetical order, such as this example here, or on this page.

2. The following components need to be included in a bibliography:

- Author or Creator of Information

- Title of Work

- Title and/or Container of the Work (Such as web page title)

- Publishing date and information

- Date you used the source if online

3. To Create a bibliography you must either copy and paste citations from online sources (such as esubscriptions like Britannica or GVRL) OR create your own citations using mybib.com. Use the latest version of MLA to create the citation.

4. Use this link for Mybib.com to create a citation for a source that you cannot find already made, such as print books or websites.

5. Then copy and paste all sources on a document in alphabetical order. Title it Bibliography, centered at the top of the page.