G Is for Garden State by
Readers will be delighted to discover the many wonders of the Garden State, from her famous sons and daughters (inventor Thomas Edison and the Revolutionary War heroine Molly Pitcher) to her beautiful sights (the Highlands, the Pinelands, and New Jersey's famous shoreline), and her unique institutions (The Seeing Eye training institute for seeing eye dogs and Haddy, the largest complete dinosaur skeleton of its time, found in 1858). G is for Garden State explores the places, people, and landmarks that make New Jersey a fascinating place to live in and to visit again and again. Written in the popular two-tier format for our Discover America State by State alphabet series, young readers will explore state facts through colorful illustrations, rhyming verses, and expository text. Used in schools throughout the country, this series effectively expands classroom curriculum.Author/preservationist Eileen Cameron is interested in protecting our natural and historical resources. She serves on the board of the Washington Association of New Jersey at Morristown National Historical Park. Eileen has hiked the Appalachian Trail at High Point, rafted on the Delaware River, and now lives in Morristown, New Jersey. Doris Ettlinger has illustrated numerous children's books including Springtime in the Big Woods and Mr. Edwards Meets Santa Claus , both adapted from the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. She graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design. Doris lives and works in a 150-year old gristmill in western New Jersey with her family and a Welsh Corgi.
All about New Jersey by
Filled with up-to-date information, color photos, fascinating & fun facts this book "All About New Jersey: 100+ Amazing Facts That Everyone Should Know" is the best book for kids to find out more about the Garden State. This book would satisfy the children's curiosity and help them to understand why New Jersey is special--and what makes it different from other States. This book gives a story, history, the state symbols, how NJ got her name, why it is called Garden State, why NJ attracts millions of visitors every year & explores the most interesting and amazing fun facts about New Jersey. It's a fun and fascinating way for young readers to find out more interesting and fun facts about the Garden State of United States. This is a great chance for every kid to expand their knowledge about the most populous state of US and impress family and friends with all discovered and never known before amazing fun facts.
My First Book about New Jersey by
My First Book About New Jersey. An 'early bird' intro to basic state facts. Covers state basics such as the state's nickname, seal, song, bird, motto, flag, regions, industries, neighbors, and weather, plus an intro to history, people, and more. Excellent for grades 2, 3, and 4. Basic state information is presented in a non-intimidating way. Twenty-three activities reinforce basic state facts. Great for easy reproducible activities, centers, a-page-a-day handouts, simple homework assignments and more. Includes glossary, bibliography and index. It's never too early to study your great state!
New Jersey by
Examines the history, geography, cities, recreations, and industries of the Garden State.
New Jersey by
Interested in learning about New Jersey's most popular attractions? Perhaps you'd prefer to know when it entered the Union or what the capitol looks like. Welcome to the U.S.A. takes readers on an unforgettable adventure through New Jersey, while simultaneously offering only the most informative details related to history, agriculture, industry, and tourism. For the first time ever, kids can enjoy all the excitement of a New Jersey vacation from the comfort of their own home.
New Jersey by
America the Beautiful is available online as part of your Grolier Online subscription! For more information call 888-326-6546 or visit us on the web at www.scholasticlibrary.com
New Jersey (a True Book: My United States) (Library Edition) by
Though small in size, New Jersey is a state rich in history and natural beauty.A True Book: My United States series allows readers to experience what makes each of the fifty state distinctive and exceptional. Readers will get to know each states' history, geography, wildlife and future outlook. This series includes an age appropriate (grades 3-5) introduction to curriculum-relevant subjects and a robust resource section that encourages independent study.Readers will get to experience both of these things and more as they tour the Garden State. They will find out which sports are most popular in New Jersey, how the state government is organized, what its natural landscape looks like, and much more.
The New Jersey Colony by 
Life in the Thirteen Colonies: New Jersey by
- Re-launch of the highly successful series The Thirteen Colonies. - Four-color illustrations, photographs. Timelines, and activities, enhance student experience. - Series targeted directly to the grade children study the colonization of America (5th) - At 128 pages, this book provides the most in-depth coverage of the subject matter for this age group. (Competing series by Child's World is for 3rd-5th graders and is 40 pages.) - Each book adheres to national social studies standards. Grades 5-8 National Social Studies Standards Time, Continuity & Change: II - Identify and use processes important to restructuring and reinterpreting the past - Identify and use key concepts such as chronology, causality, change, conflict and complexity to explain, analyze and show connections among patterns of historical change and continuity. Power, Authority, & Governance: VI - Identifies basic features of the U.S. political system - Describes how government powers are acquired, used, and justified - Describes how governments respond to forces of unity and diversity
The Legend of the Jersey Devil by
The Pine Barrens region in New Jersey has long been a place of mystery, with its dark pine groves, black swamps, and dank bogs, oftentimes shrouded in mist and fog. Reputed to be haunted by spirits, it's an unsettling place to be sure. But of all the mysterious happenings and sights to be found in the Pine Barrens, there is none so intriguing as the Jersey Devil. Since its first reported sighting in 1735, local lore has it that a "devil-like" creature with the head of a horse, the wings of a bat, and the hooves of a goat has menaced townspeople, frightened livestock, and caused all manner of trouble over the years. Is the Jersey Devil real? Award-winning author Trinka Hakes Noble weaves a spellbinding tale about the origins of the legend of the Jersey Devil. Atmospheric illustrations by artist Gerald Kelley bring the tale to spooky life.
New Jersey by
New Jersey provides intriguing descriptions of life in the early colony, including such details as the division of New Jersey into East and West; the effect of the presence of the Society of Friends; the success of farming, which contributed to the state's nickname, "The Garden State"; and the history of slavery in the colony. Readers will also learn about battles during the Revolutionary War, such as the Battles of Trenton and Princeton, as well as New Jersey's pivotal role in the formation of the Constitution and its place as the third state to ratify it. Ideal for any upper elementary, middle or junior high school student, this entertaining volume introduces readers to the history behind this land. Sidebars include: Sir George Carteret Farming in colonial New Jersey Lenni Lenape place names in New Jersey Princeton University Slavery in New Jersey The Dutch West India Company The early settlers The Society of Friends The Marquis de Lafayette Wampum William Paterson.
The Delaware and Raritan Canal by
For nearly one hundred seventy years, the Delaware and Raritan Canal has meandered across the narrow waist of New Jersey through bustling cities, suburban towns, and rural landscapes. One of the most successful towpath canals in the United States, the Delaware and Raritan carried more tonnage in 1866 than the famous Erie Canal. Transporting mainly anthracite coal, the Delaware and Raritan also stimulated industries as diverse as Roebling's wire-rope factory in Trenton, Johnson & Johnson pharmaceuticals in New Brunswick, and Fleischmann's Distillery in East Millstone. Today, as the centerpiece of the Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park, the canal provides the people of central New Jersey with both a water supply and a premier recreational facility.The Delaware and Raritan Canal introduces you to this manmade waterway through some two hundred historical photographs and postcards. In these pages, discover the locks, aqueducts, and machinery that enabled the waterway to transport military men and supplies between New York and Philadelphia during three wars. See how inventor John Holland used the canal to deliver his Holland VI submarine to Washington for its naval trials and how luxury yachts, including J.P. Morgan's Tarantula, cruised the waterway. The Delaware and Raritan Canal documents a historical and recreational gem in the heart of New Jersey.
New Jersey by
Each of the 52 volumes in the World Almanac Library of the States is filled with the most up-to-date information, including the latest Census results. Full-color photos bring to life the story of each state, as well as the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and other outlying areas. In addition to an in-depth factual profile of each state in the form of a state Almanac, each book offers fascinating and lively discussions of the state's history, people, geography, government, economy, culture, and lifestyles. Each title also includes a section on notable people, a calendar of events, and enough primary source documents, time lines, maps, and other tools to make this unquestionably the best young adult reference material on the United States of America available anywhere.
New Jersey Firsts by
An entertaining, informative look at a wide spectrum of "firsts" accomplished by New Jersey residents, from the significant to the obscure, from colonial days to the present. Part of a series.
Voices from Colonial America: New Jersey (Direct Mail Edition) by
Eye-catching graphics and engaging narrative create a compelling picture of life in colonial New Jersey. Originally settled by the Dutch as part of their "New Netherland," New Jersey did not flourish as a colony until it came under British control in 1664. Readers will learn how the promise of political and religious freedom led to its becoming the first Quaker colony in America and one of the most ethnically diverse. They'll learn how, for a while, it was divided into East and West Jersey, how it had its own version of the Boston Tea Party, and how its location between New York City and Philadelphia made it the site of nearly 100 battles during the struggle for independence that eventually led to its becoming the nation's third state.
Colonial New Jersey by
Traces the history of New Jersey from its discovery in 1498 to the beginning of the Revolutionary War.
A Historical Album of New Jersey by
Beginning with the Native American culture and ending with the present day, the most important events and people in New Jersey history are touched on in a rapid overview.
A Field Guide to the Pine Barrens of New Jersey by
This is the ultimate handbook to the New Jersey Pine barrens. More than 700 species of plants and animals found within this 2,200-square-mile tract are identified and illustrated. The book begins by explaining and defining the uniqueness and diversity of the Pine Barrens, from its history to its ecostructure and future outlook. The bulk of the text, however, is devoted to classifying and categorizing every plant and living creature that makes its home in the Pine Barrens.
