LibGuides: Middle School Library: Grade 8

Banner

Username: pdslibs Password: gooddata

Username: pdslibs

Database password (except Ebsco): gooddata

Ebscohost Password: gooddata!21

Research for Imagine the Possibilities

Ebscohost Databases This link opens in a new window
A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. It includes Novelist, French and Spanish online databases, Points of View Database, and full text access to journals, magazine, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Explore the many online reference and specialized ebooks on a variety of topics. GVRL allows access to hundreds of topic sources for research.
World Book Encylopedias This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.

Imagine the Possibilities Slide Juan Felipe Herrera

Links for Information about Juan Felipe Herrera

https://www.npr.org/2017/04/12/523466543/juan-felipe-herrera-on-poetry-in-tough-times-

https://medium.com/@jerrygriswold/juan-felipe-herrera-93f371a88afe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_-ptrcjQbk

https://blogs.loc.gov/catbird/2016/07/to-find-our-larger-self-an-interview-with-juan-felipe-herrera/

https://gulfstreamlitmag.com/archives/online-archives/current-issue-4/features/interview-with-juan-felipe-herrera/

https://www.latinobookreview.com/interview-with-juan-felipe-herrera.html

Misinformation, Disinformation and Fake News

How and why can Misinformation, Disinformation or Fake News Be Harmful?

What role does Misinformation play in the current Pandemic and the political instability in Washington, DC right now?

How might you protect yourself from being taken in by misinformation?

LIBRARY CATALOG

The library offers print books, ebooks, and audiobooks through Follett Destiny, Sora, and Epic.

FOLLETT DESTINY

Destiny is our library catalog. You can find all of our print books and some ebooks here.

Click here to go to the catalog. Search for author, title, subjects or topics.

SORA

Sora is a digital library and app with ebooks and audiobooks. You can access it through their website or on the Sora app on your iPad.

Click here to sign into the Sora website

SORA Help

SORA is both an online ebook and audiobook library where one can borrow materials for a three week period, and a place where some titles may be rented for a class or a book club.

CLICK HERE FOR A BRIEF VIDEO INTRO TO SORA:

1. Access PDS Sora in a web browser by visiting

https://soraapp.com/library/pdsnj (Works on Ipads, laptops, phones, etc)

2. OR download the Sora app for free on your non-PDS devices. (Works on Ipads, laptops, phones...)

3. THE PDS SET UP CODE IS: pdsnj

OR you may choose Princeton Day School if it is visible.

4. Login with your pds username and password.

Note for LIBBY users: SORA will only allow access to YA and J titles public library titles because it is a school APP, so for adult titles you will still need to use the Libby APP from your public library)

SORA INSTRUCTIONS VIDEO

Use this form to request a book from the library:

Need help with any library resources? Use the links for instructions, video tutorials, and more!

Follett Destiny Catalog

Sora

Epic

Library Databases