LibGuides: MS 5 Animal Cognition: Home

Animal Cognition (Thinking) Quote from Scholastic Go

According to Researcher Donald R. Griffin any action toward a goal involves thinking. He divided Animal thinking/Animal Cognition into categories:

Animals think about finding food.
They think about escaping from predators and capturing prey.
Some also think about constructing things such as nests and tools.
Animals communicate. Examples include warning sounds.
Some animals deliberately deceive and manipulate others. Griffin said that such behaviors may involve one animal mentally predicting how another will respond.

Library Catalog for Books

Once you are assigned an animal you may look for a book to check out. If you want to find a book in our library catalog click here and put the book on hold. You will need to log in with your google username and password to put the book on hold. Type in the name of your animal or type of animal to find a book.

Databases and KIddle - Safe web sites to search

If after checking FactCite, Britannica, World Book and Scholastic Go you may look at KIDDLE!

Check out all of the other Databases and esubscriptions

(username is pdslibs and password is gooddata for databases)

Encyclopedias and eSubscitions: Username: pdslibs Password: gooddata

You may EXPLORE and Gather from online sources:

From HOME you must use the username and password for access:

Most databases (full list with links)

Username: pdslibs

Password: gooddata

Ebscohost

UserID: princetonds

Password: Cjrlc@096

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Ebscohost Databases This link opens in a new window
A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. It includes Novelist, French and Spanish online databases, Points of View Database, and full text access to journals, magazine, and more.
FactCite This link opens in a new window
FactCite is an award-winning collection of online reference resources designed and written especially for students in grade 1 - 8. Includes biographies, history, science, mythology, states, countries and much more.
Infobase Facts on File Databases This link opens in a new window
Facts on File Infobase source covers a wide variety of topics with more than 3,000 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. Our publishing program covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-5), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), college/academic, and general adult. A
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.
Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window
ProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
World Book Encylopedias This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

LInks to articles

While you EXPLORE you might want to use some of these links!

Of Beasts and Brains Article

MS 5 Animal Cognition: Home

Animal Cognition (Thinking) Quote from Scholastic Go

According to Researcher Donald R. Griffin any action toward a goal involves thinking. He divided Animal thinking/Animal Cognition into categories:

Animals think about finding food.

They think about escaping from predators and capturing prey.

Some also think about constructing things such as nests and tools.

Animals communicate. Examples include warning sounds.

Some animals deliberately deceive and manipulate others. Griffin said that such behaviors may involve one animal mentally predicting how another will respond.

Library Catalog for Books

Databases and KIddle - Safe web sites to search

Encyclopedias and eSubscitions: Username: pdslibs Password: gooddata

LInks to articles