LibGuides: MS Viruses: Facts, Opinions and Misinformation: Home

Myth Vs, Science

Information: Facts vs Opinions

Misinformation, Disinformation, Propaganda

Please use the following library sources to find out about viruses. When searching databases you put in search words, not questions. When searching google or the internet you can use questions.

Username: pdslibs

Password: gooddata

Library eSubscriptions to Check for Virus Information

World Book Encylopedias This link opens in a new window
World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Infobase Facts on File Databases This link opens in a new window
Facts on File Infobase source covers a wide variety of topics with more than 3,000 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. Our publishing program covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-5), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), college/academic, and general adult. A
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.
Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window
ProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window
ProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.

When searching online random sites think about the source of information, and the purpose of the information. Is it informational, opinion, or possibly misinformation? Is the author of the source an expert? If you are not sure go to another source to verify.

BBC news https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zkcvhcw

Scientific American https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/are-viruses-alive-2004/#:~:text=First%20seen%20as%20poisons%2C%20then,behavior%20of%20their%20hosts%20profoundly.

Ask a Biologist https://askabiologist.asu.edu/questions/are-viruses-alive

UT Austin Biodiversity Blog https://biodiversity.utexas.edu/news/entry/are-viruses-alive

Viruses are Not Alive https://www.virology.ws/2004/06/09/are-viruses-living/comment-page-1/

WebMD https://blogs.webmd.com/public-health/20200717/are-viruses-living-things

Discover Magazine https://www.discovermagazine.com/environment/20-things-you-didnt-know-about-viruses

Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/mcat/cells/viruses/a/are-viruses-dead-or-alive

Scientist Carl Zimmer on Viruses https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tryg5UCp6f

Living things: https://online.infobase.com/HRC/Search/Details/8?articleId=468812&q=living%20organism%20and%20virus

Scholastic Go: https://go.scholastic.com/D/article/a20/310/a2031030-h.html

Science News https://www.sciencenews.org/article/viruses-alive-coronavirus-definition