LibGuides: MS Women in History: Home

Women in History Essential Question

Essential Question: How did your person's experience reflect women's struggle for equality?

Choose a woman or a group of women about whom you can find enough information about them and their accomplishments to conduct research. You must include the historical context of the woman (women) as opposed to just biographical information.

When you think about this question, think about :

How your chosen woman was able to accomplish what they did
What impact they had on women's struggle for equality
What barriers they faced and how they overcame those barriers

Explore these sources for ideas about women to choose for the project:

Breaking Barriers: Women's History Museum

Influential Women of the 21St Century

National Women's History Alliance - Biographies

National Women's History Museum - Biographies

Britannica's List of Women

Destiny Library Catalog: Put in the name or topic to see if there is information about your woman.

ABC-Clio History Databases This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO's 15 subject-specific Solutions curriculum resources provide authoritative coverage of essential topics in U.S. history and government, world history, geography, and a range of multicultural and popular culture subjects.

Usernames and Passwords

Username: pdslibs

Password: gooddata

Most databases (full list with links)

Username: pdslibs

Password: gooddata

Ebscohost

UserID: princetonds

Password: Cjrlc@096

JSTOR

Username: PDSlibs (note the caps)

Password: gooddata

Gilder Lehrman History Now

Username: amatlack@pds.org

Password: PDSgooddata22

Academic Video Online

Username: pdshist

Password: Gooddata!20

Newspapers

Username: library@pds.org

Password: Goodnews22!

Brainpop

Brainpop - check this out for biographies for some women!

eSubscriptions

PDS eSUBSCRIPTIONS to EXPLORE

Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window
ProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
SIRS Database This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues of the day.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Explore the many online reference and specialized ebooks on a variety of topics. GVRL allows access to hundreds of topic sources for research.
Infobase Facts on File Databases This link opens in a new window
Facts on File Infobase source covers a wide variety of topics with more than 3,000 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. Our publishing program covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-5), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), college/academic, and general adult. A
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Britannica Social Studies Launchpacks This link opens in a new window
Britannica Launchpacks package information about cultures and historical topics in "packs" for research. The information is taken from the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Current Information

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context spans continents and cultures to bring essential, balanced information to researchers across many academic disciplines. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search, Global Issues in Context not only focuses on broad issues such as poverty and nuclear proliferation, it also prompts a close appraisal of targeted issues,
Ebscohost Databases This link opens in a new window
A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. It includes Novelist, French and Spanish online databases, Points of View Database, and full text access to journals, magazine, and more.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window
Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.

PBS Videos

PBS has documentaries on the History of Women. Check out their site and do a search.

For Example: Not Done: Women Remaking America (Modern Women's Movement)

MS Women in History: Home

Women in History Essential Question

Usernames and Passwords

Brainpop

eSubscriptions

Current Information

PBS Videos

Symbols of Women's Rights