LibGuides: MS WW I: Home

The Great War WWI

History 8: Ledley

WWI Battles Newspaper Project

WWI contained some of the bloodiest battles in human history, many of which resulted in little to no gain for the victors at the expense of hundreds of thousands of soldiers' lives. In this project, we will explore four of the major battles of WWI - The Battle of the Somme, The Battle of Verdun, The Battle of Ypres, and The Battle of Gallipoli. In groups, you will assume the role of journalists and create a newspaper front page covering one of these battles. The front page can be created in Pages using the newsletter templates. Each member of your group should contribute to the research and creation of the front page.

You will submit and present your front page in class on Monday, November 23 (Section A) and Tuesday, November 24 (Section B).

REVIEW - GRADING CRITERIA.....

Content – does the newspaper answer all of the research questions?
Design – is the newspaper neat and visually appealing?
Creativity – are the design and content of the newspaper creative?
Participation – did each group member make an important contribution to the newspaper?
Teamwork – did group members work together enthusiastically and effectively on the newspaper?
Bibliography – are all sources used to create front page cited in a bibliography using MLA format?

PLAN - THE ASSIGNMENT

The front page should answer the following research questions:

Where did the battle occur?
What led to the battle?
What were the battle conditions (ex: weather)?
Who was involved?
How many casualties were there?
What types of weapons were used?
What was the end result of the battle? That is, who "won" the battle, and what were its effects on everything around it, including civilians?

Your front page should contain a variety of content. Possibilities include:

Attention-grabbing headlines
Reporting on events of battle
A day-to-day account of life on the battlefield
An article reflecting soldiers feelings about the battle
A political cartoon about the battle or war
Hand-drawn maps or illustrations of the battle
An editorial reflecting opinion on battle
A weather report from the battlefield
Interviews with civilians, soldiers, generals, etc.

Sample Newspaper Headline

PLAN - The Project Timeline

Here is the project timeline:

Day 1 A: 11/16 (M) B: 11/17 (Tu)
- Divide up research responsibilities
- Begin research
- HW: Research
Day 2 A: 11/17 (Tu) B: 11/18 (W)
- Finish researching
- Pool group research and create bibliography
- Decide on how to present research
- HW: Work on individual portion of front page
Day 3 A: 11/18 (W) B: 11/19 (Th)
- Work on individual portion of front page
- HW: Finish individual portion of front page
Day 4 A: 11/20 (F) B: 11/20 (F)
- Design and assemble front page as a group
- HW: Finalize and submit front page and bibliography to Schoology as a PDF
Day 5 A: 11/23 (M) B: 11/24 (Tu)
- Present newspaper front page

DO - Bibliography Examples

Bibliography or Works Cited Page

When creating your bibliography, or Works Cited Page,

be sure to put it in alphabetical order. See the exaple below:

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/12/

Easybib Website
Use this site to look up the MLS style of bibliographic information for all types of sources.
If you have the app on your iPad you may use that as well.
Easybib How to cite a website
Use this link to see an example of how to cite a webpage. If you use the esubscriptions they usually have the MLA citation to cut and paste.

DO - eSources to check out...

esubscriptions username: pdslibs password: gooddata

World War I Reference Library
Search by name of battle or topic.

ABC-Clio History Databases This link opens in a new window
Use the DATABASES PULL DOWN MENU to THE WORLD at WAR Database, then type in the name of the battle you are researching.

Gale Encyclopedia of US History: WW I
Browse this article for quotes, photos, information, and general information about the US involvement in the war.

DO - Print Sources in the Library

World War I by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Editor); John S. D. Eisenhower (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1851098798
Publication Date: 2005-10-25
Featuring a wealth of new information and an extraordinary gallery of images, this five-volume set is the new standard reference for introducing students to World War I.