LibGuides: LS 3rd Colonial Research: Paul Revere

Silversmith Library Books

The Silversmiths by Leonard Everett Fisher This series of books by the distinguished author and artist Leonard Everett Fisher explores the lives, times and occupations of American colonists. Accompanied by beautiful illustrations depicting early America, this series blends both the history of the times with its crafts. Widely hailed when they were first published, the books are again being made available to a whole new generation of readers.
A Day in the Life of a Colonial Silversmith by Kathy Wilmore Kids will be fascinated to discover that at a time when there were no banks silver tableware and other objects were one way that people stored their wealth. This useful book explains why silversmiths were so important in colonial times.
Colonial Crafts by Bobbie Kalman Young readers will visit the workshops of the wheelwright, cooper, founder, shoemaker, milliner, gunsmith, and many more
The Colonial Silversmith by Henry J. Kauffman

PDS Online Sites - Type your topic in the search box.

PebbleGo This link opens in a new window Click on the topic of dinosaurs, science, animals, biographies, or social studies (history, community, government, and culture), then search for information.
World Book Encylopedias This link opens in a new window World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Scholastic Go! This link opens in a new window Grolier offers encyclopedia and nonfiction information from elementary to adult levels. All articles are lexiled and are correlated to national and state standards, with over 340,000 editor vetted web links, and over 1,100 world newspapers in 73 languages representing 195 countries.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Explora Primary This link opens in a new window
Scroll down and click on Explora Primary
Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window ProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
FactCite This link opens in a new window FactCite is an award-winning collection of online reference resources designed and written especially for students in grade 1 - 8. Includes biographies, history, science, mythology, states, countries and much more.

Websites

Silversmiths

Paul Revere books

Who Was Paul Revere? by Roberta Edwards
Paul Revere by Rick Burke
A Picture Book of Paul Revere by David A. Adler
The British Are Coming: The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere by Nancy Golden